Expand my Community achievements bar.

Looking for 2 solutions.

Level 1

Hi all.

I tried researching dozens of post and tried various search terms. Not sure if I am using the right terminology.

I have a merchandise Return Authorization Form that I have my Customer Service staff fill out.

Here is what I am looking to do:

1. I want to send the completed form to the Customer using the email field on the form.
  2. simutaneously, save a copy of the form to a network drive using the RA# Field + Last Name Field on the form.

I am NOT a programmer. I have read multiple solutions on google and other sites. nothing really helped.

CAN this actually be done at all?

Thanks,

5 Replies

Level 4

I can answer the first part of your question depending on what version of LiveCycle you are using. From the object library, select a button. Once on your form leave the button selected and from the object pallet tab, choose "submit" as your button type. Then go into the Submit tab and type in the URL that you want your pdf to go to. If you don't want it to go to a specific person, then just type "mailto:" in the URL space and select pdf from the drop down menu next to "submit as".  Now this button will open the person's default email program ready to be addressed with the pdf as an attachment.

I hope this helps.

Level 5

Hi,

To Answer the second question,

(assuming you are talking about a PDF file)

technically it is possible, although there are a few hoops to jump through.

Hoop 1 - If you are working in Reader it needs to be enabled in order to allow the save, LiveCycle Reader Extension Or Acrobat Pro are required for that

Hoop 2 - you can use the JS call doc.saveAs, as can been seen by the documentation, there are a number of things that need to be in place for this function to work.

http://livedocs.adobe.com/acrobat_sdk/10/Acrobat10_HTMLHelp/JS_API_AcroJS.88.519.html

Hope this helps

Malcolm

Level 1

Hi,