Expand my Community achievements bar.

Learn about Edge Delivery Services in upcoming GEM session
SOLVED

LiveCycle Newbie: Validate Before Printing Form

Level 1

I have a form created in Adobe Acrobat Pro that I have brought into LiveCycle to add print and emails buttons to. However, I need a specific functionality added to the standard "Print" button. It is a legal form that has required fields and the client needs to fill in all the required fields on the form BEFORE printing and signing it. We have had problems in the past with clients not filling in all the required fields before sending it back to them. So, I need to somehow make the print button check to make sure all the required fields are filled in and send a warning message and/or prevent printing if all the required fields are not filled in. Is there a way to do this?

I am using LiveCycle Designer ES 8.2 and I am VERY new to this program so the simpler the solution the better.

Thanks in advance for the help!

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Former Community Member

Hi

I have now created a form for this example as the best way to explain to people.

You are correct you can do it within the same button (my knowledge and skills have developed somewhat since the orignal post)

Here is a link to the page where the example can be found.

http://www.dubdubdubdesigns.co.uk/livecycle/formprinting.html

If you have any questions just ask

Regards

Graahm

View solution in original post

33 Replies

Former Community Member

Hi

I would add another fake print button over the top of the existing one but just add a standard button not a print button.

then to the click scripting event in the script editor add something like the below

if ((TextField1.rawValue == null) or (TextField2.rawValue == null) & (CheckBox1.rawValue == "1")) then

xfa.host.messageBox("You must enter the required data to be able to print this form")

else

PrintButton1.execEvent("click")

endif