Expand my Community achievements bar.

Dive into Adobe Summit 2024! Explore curated list of AEM sessions & labs, register, connect with experts, ask questions, engage, and share insights. Don't miss the excitement.
SOLVED

Image change from drop down menu selection

Level 2

I am very new to LiveCycle ES 8, I am trying to have what I guess may be called a dynamic image in. When you select a value from the drop down menu, the image changes on the other page, to fit the value selected on the previous page. I am not a programmer I am willing to do what i can to get this to work. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank You.

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Level 10

Hi,

It is possible to achieve what you want. You will need a few objects:

• dropdown list object with script;
  • "image" objects, one for each image you want. These would be set to hidden;
  • "imageField" object. You would only need one of these. The initial value would be null. The script in the dropdown will populate the imageField with the appropriate image object.

When setting up the dropdown list it can be handy to specify values in the binding tab (e.g. 1, 2, 3,...). Then in the script you can refer to the numbers rather than the strings that the user sees in the dropdown.

The imageField1 should be set to access read only in its initialize event:

this.access = "readOnly";

This will prevent the user overriding the image.

When setting up the image1, image2, image3 objects make sure to tick the "embed image data", otherwise the users may not have the images available to them.

You can place similar Javascript in the exit event of the dropdown:

if (this.rawValue == 1) {

imageField1.rawValue = image1.value.image.value;

} else if (this.rawValue == 2) {

imageField1.rawValue = image2.value.image.value;

} else if (this.rawValue == 3) {

imageField1.rawValue = image3.value.image.value;

}

Good luck,

Niall