Expand my Community achievements bar.

Dive into Adobe Summit 2024! Explore curated list of AEM sessions & labs, register, connect with experts, ask questions, engage, and share insights. Don't miss the excitement.

How to get expandable text fields within text?

Level 1

I have a legal document I am trying to create that has text and within the text a client can type their name. I want to know if it is possible to have a text field that is expandable and that also moves the text to accommodate the entry from a client?

I am fairly new with liveCycle so any help would be greatly appreciated.

I also can't find where to upload an example of the form I am working on...

HELP!

5 Replies

Level 7

I've struggled with this a few times, and at no point do I ever feel like I've handled this the "right" way. However, here are the options I've tried.

1. Structure the document so that anywhere something is filled in, an entire line can be dedicated to a user's entry.

2. Provide a page that is nothing but fillable fields. On that page, ask for whatever answers you need. Then, on the subsequent pages, make your text value reflect the concatenation of the text before what the user enters, the text the user enters, and the text after. You could feasibly have a LOT of text here. In fact, you could have a few blanks to fill out and then generate the ENTIRE document from what's entered there.

Ex: (There are probably better ways to do this.)

On p1, there are four fields and a button. tfName, tfAddress, tfCity, tfState, and btnGenerate. On p2, there is only a text field that is expandable: tfResult.

The javascript for btnGenerate::click looks like this:

xfa.resolveNode("p2.tfResult.value.#text").value = "My name is "+tfName.rawValue +". I reside at "+tfAddress.rawValue+" in "+tfCity.rawValue+", "+tfState.rawValue+".";

Level 1

When you say "expandable text fields", you aren't talking about choosing the "wrap" option?

Level 7