Expand my Community achievements bar.

Dive into Adobe Summit 2024! Explore curated list of AEM sessions & labs, register, connect with experts, ask questions, engage, and share insights. Don't miss the excitement.

How to auto populate text field from number of checkboxes?

Level 2

Hello there,

I am a newbie in Livecycle, and I need to populate a text field from checkboxes. There are many checkboxes in my form and depending on which checkbox do I check, the caption of the checkbox should be copied to another text field.

I could populate one checkbox in one text field, but when more than one checkboxes are checked, their caption should be added to the text field and when I uncheck it should be removed from the text field as well, how can I do that??

For example

CB1: Product List

CB2: Test Cert

CB3: QA Cert etc.

If I check CB1 and CB3 they should auto populate in one text field like "Product List, QA Cert"

Would appreciate any help on this.

Thank you

-Nisarg

5 Replies

Level 10

Hi Nisarg,

If all you checkboxes are under a subform called 'Checkboxes', then you could use some JavaScript like the following in the calculate event of the text field.

var result = [];

// select all checkboxes that are children of the subform called 'Checkboxes' you will probably need to change this bit

var checkboxes = Checkboxes.resolveNodes('#field.[ui.oneOfChild.className == "checkButton"]');

for (var i = 0; i < checkboxes.length; i++) {

var checkbox = checkboxes.item(i);

// if the checkbox is selected store in result array

if (checkbox.rawValue == checkbox.items.nodes.item(0).value) {

result.push(checkbox.caption.value.text.value)

}

}

result.join(", ");

Here's a sample I used to check the syntax, https://sites.google.com/site/livecycledesignercookbooks/home/shahnisarg28.pdf?attredirects=0&d=1

Regards

Bruce

Level 2

Hello Bruce,