Expand my Community achievements bar.

SOLVED

How to auto populate a field based on drop down list unless specific item is selected

Level 1

Hi all,

Apologies if I have posted this in the wrong area but I am new to Adobe LiveCycle, JavaScript and these forums.

I am trying to build an Acrobat form using LiveCycle but am having trouble with the drop down lists.

Inititaly I simply wanted to populate fields in one table based on the selection of a corresponding drop down list in another table.

I used the following code and it worked fine:

Workbook.Content.Table1.Row3.AppropriationDetails.Row4.Cell1::change - (JavaScript, client)

var fFrom = xfa.resolveNodes("Workbook.Content.Table1.Row3.AppropriationDetails[*].Row4.Cell1");

var fTo = xfa.resolveNodes("Workbook.Content.Table2.Row3.AppropriationDetails[*].Row4.Cell1");

for (var i=0; i <= fFrom.length-1; i++) {

fTo.item(i).rawValue = fFrom.item(i).boundItem(xfa.event.newText);

}

The problem is that now I want the above code to work UNLESS one of the items in the dropdown list is specifically selected in which case I want the text box in the other table to display a message such as "Enter details in the field below".

I have tried to create an If Else statement using the following code:

Workbook.Content.Table1.Row3.AppropriationDetails.Row4.Cell1::change - (JavaScript, client)

var fFrom = xfa.resolveNodes("Workbook.Content.Table1.Row3.AppropriationDetails[*].Row4.Cell1");

var fTo = xfa.resolveNodes("Workbook.Content.Table2.Row3.AppropriationDetails[*].Row4.Cell1");

if (fFrom.item(i).rawvalue = "Option 3"){

fTo.item(i).rawValue = "Enter details in the field below";

}

else {

}

}

The code now populates the field with "Enter the details in the field below" no matter what item I select from the dropdown list.

Your help is greatly appreciated.

Cheers,

ozzy_q

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Level 10

Hi,