Expand my Community achievements bar.

SOLVED

How can I merge 3 or more individual text fields into an editable summary text field?

Level 1

I am stuck and do not know where to begin. I am self taught in using Adobe LiveCycle and have found many answers here in the forums and via trial and error.

I cannot find or create the correct java script or form calc to feed multiple text fields into one text field.  My supervisor is asking me to do this for two sections of a form I created using Adobe LiveCycle Designer ES 8.2.

1)       Merge all 3 user entered text fields to an user editable summary text field at the end of the form.

2)       Merge all 24 user entered text fields to an user editable summary text field at the end of the form.

Since they are all individual text fields in response to various questions, I cannot use the global binding function. I do not want the summary text field to override the individual text fields.

Here is the java scripting I placed on Show: calculate* Language: javascript Run: at client

1) PDStrengthWeaknessComments.rawValue + "_" + OCStrengthWeaknessComments.rawValue + "_" + CEBAStrengthWeaknessComments.rawValue;

Needless to say, these instructions are not working on my form. Would someone with a lot of experience or an IT degree kindly help me?

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Level 10

I suspect that you don't have the correct object references in the script.

If "PDStrengthWeaknessComments" is on a different page, then the script may look like:

this.rawValue = page1.mySubform.PDStrengthWeaknessComments.rawValue +...