Expand my Community achievements bar.

Dive into Adobe Summit 2024! Explore curated list of AEM sessions & labs, register, connect with experts, ask questions, engage, and share insights. Don't miss the excitement.

Expanding-objects-in-flowed-subforms - settings greyed-out

Former Community Member

Windows 7 Ultimate

Acrobat 9 Pro Extended

Adobe LiveCycle Designer ES 8.2

Firstly, I'm very new to using LiveCycle & only slightly more experienced with Acrobat, so I'm unsure about the terminology. Feel fre to correct me on that, even if you don’t have a solution to my main question.

I have an existing interactive (it has fillable text fields, check boxes, etc) pdf form which I want to change so that the text fields expand when full, going across page breaks.

I know it’s possible - I've seen this example from Assuredynamics & when I open it in LiveCycle I can see the settings used, but when I open my form, some of the settings are greyed out.

Object palette>field tab: ‘keep with next’ & ‘allow page breaks within content’ are both greyed out - the second of those is checked in the Assuredynamics & seems like it would be very relevant to what I want to do.

Layout palette>size & position>Y> ‘expand to fit’ isn’t checked in mine but is in the Assuredynamics file. I’ve tried checking it in mine but  it didn’t seem to un-grey-out the other settings.

I'm not even sure exactly what questions I need to ask here, so any comments or suggestions on how to resolve this, without having to totally create the form anew, would be much appreciated!

Thanks in advance

5 Replies

Level 10

Hi,

For dynamic behaviour to work in LC Designer forms, you need to save the form as a Dynamic XML Form in the save-as dialog:

LC SaveAs Dialog.png

The other issue is how you created the form in the first place. For example if you created the form by importing an existing Word or PDF document, then it is likely that you will not be able to have any dynamic behaviour in the form.