Expand my Community achievements bar.

Email button doesn't work

Level 2

Hi, I'm relatively new to this stuff...In LiveCylce Designer ES, I created an email button that when clicked, I want it to attach the current fill-in PDF and email to a fixed email address, cc the email address entered in a form field, pull a name from form to be included in Subject line. In the Script Editor, I chose JavaScript at the Language and put the following script under form1.#subform[0].Button1::mouseUp - (JavaScript, client)

var cToAddr = "persons mail address";

var cCCAddr = this.getField("Email").value; 

var cStudentName = this.getField("StudentName").value;  

var cSubLine = "Paperwork for " +  cStudentName;

var cBody = "Message to submitter";

this.mailDoc(bUI: true, cTo: cToAddr, cCc: cCCAddr,

cSubject: cSubLine, cMsg: cBody);

When I test it, nothing happens (no error msg or anything) when I click the button. (Users will be using Adobe Reader.) Please help...thanks in advance.

9 Replies

Former Community Member

Did you Reader extend the form .....Reader cannot do that unless you reader extend the form out of Acrobat first. Do you have Acrobat?

Paul

Level 10

Along with reader extending, you have syntax error in the last line of code.

Use the below.

event.target.mailDoc({bUI: true, cTo: cToAddr, cCc: cCCAddr, cSubject: cSubLine, cMsg: cBody});

Thanks

Srini

Level 2

Hi Paul,

Thanks for getting back to me so quick. I have Acrobat 9 Pro & extended it. (I also tested it there, too.)

Marcia

Level 2

Thanks, Srini. Plugged in that code…still nothing. I’m wondering if there’s a setting that I’m missing…i.e., in the Object Palette for the button, under Field tab > Control Type, I selected Regular (Execute & Submit are the other 2 choices).

Former Community Member

Regular is what it should be ...try it on your Acrobat version first (to ensure we have the code right) ....are there any errors on the java console?

Paul

Level 2