Expand my Community achievements bar.

SOLVED

Dynamic update of pdf files on web server with xml

Level 2

Hi forum

Is it possible, to make a pdf form quiz, on a web site, there are updating it contents every day just bye replacing a xml file there have the text for the questions.?

I just need some guindes or ide how to make this. ( i am new in xml/ dynamic pdf files)

And do i need a LiveCycle form server to to this ?

Regards

Th

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Former Community Member

It needs refinement but is this the kind of thing you had in mind? You will have to update the File/Form Properties/Preview with the location of where the xml data file is located. I also had to modify the structure of the xml file ....to make it easier. After yo update the preview location ...simply do a preview to see the result.

Paul

View solution in original post

22 Replies

Former Community Member

Yes this is possible .....I have seen a number of people do this in a number of different. The LC Forms requirement would depend on how sophisticated you want the solution to be. Can you elaborate on how you want to do this?

Paul

Level 2

Hi Poul

Tanks for you reply.

I don't know how to do this. My idea is to keep et simple. If i can make a pdf file there link to a xml file, all on line, and then  just update the questions.

ex.

Q1: Is this a good forum ?

A1: Yes

A2: No

etc...

Q5: Do you use it a lot ?

A10: Yes

A11: No

and then a sumit bottom.

I will like to get all the Answers send to a web server and back to a mysql server.

I have been testing but i have problems with the rendering of the dynamic pdf and the xml file when opening i reader and i don't know if it possible to put it on a web server.

I hope you can guide me in the direction to solve this.

Best regards

Tonny

Former Community Member

Can you post a sample XML file that will contain the structure of what you are looking for? I will take that XML file and build a simple sample for you.

Paul