Expand my Community achievements bar.

Dropdown calculation selection

Former Community Member

Hello forum members,

I just started Livecycle for dynamic pdf files, but got stuck even at the beggining since i am not good at javascript at all. So i have a simple invoice with a table in which i need to select one of the two types of tax 18% and 5%. The selection is made with a dropdown. I also have one column for the quantity and one column for the price. The equations are not a problem [(quantity * price) * 0.18 or 0.05], however the specific cell needs to know what the dropdown selection is for the product row. For example if i select 18% one cell needs to calculate the 18% tax for all the  selected product rows with 18%, and if i select 5% tax calculations are made for those specific rows. How do i check what is selected in the dropdown? Default value is 1 or 18%.

Here is some code i wrote in the 18% cell

if(Row1.TaxDropdown = 1){

$ = (Price * Quantity) * 0.18

}

Thanks

6 Replies

Level 10

You're mixing some JavaScript and FormCalc syntax there. But the biggest problem is the single equals sign for testing the value, one equals sign assigns a value and two equals signs test a value.

JavaScript:

if (Row1.TaxDropdown.rawValue == 1) {

this.rawValue = (Price.rawValue * Quantity.rawValue) * .18;

}

FormCalc:

if (Row1.TaxDropdown == 1) then

$ = (Price * Quantity) * .18

endif

Former Community Member

Thanks that works but just for the first row. I tried adding Row1[*].TaxDropdown but it seems that the calculation is made for the fist row only and the selection from the dropdown on the rest of the rows are ignored. The rows are added dynamicly with a button. I also changed the code a bit

if (Row1[*].TaxDropdown.formattedValue == "5%") then

$ = (Row1[*].TotalNoTax * Row1[*].TaxDropdown)

endif

Level 10

That's not going to work. Is there one field that you are totalling in or is there a series of fields?

Former Community Member