Expand my Community achievements bar.

Drop Down List Item Selection to Populate a Free Text Field(?)

Level 2

I consider myself a pre-novice with Adobe LiveCycle Designer, so even though I have read responses to questions that are similar to mine I can't seem to follow the solutions.  Here is my dilemma.  I have created a Lesson Plan Template -- I am a teacher -- on Adobe Pro 9.  On my lesson plan, I have to list the standards I am teaching on a given day.  So using Adobe, I created a drop down list with the standards I use; for example, "Reading Process" is one standard and in the drop down list I have included all the benchmarks associated with the standard (LA.1112.1.5.1, LA.1112.1.6.1, LA.1112.1.7.1, etc.).

Each benchmark has its own meaning; for example, LA.1112.1.6.1 means "The student will use new vocabulary that is introduced and taught directly."

What I would like to do is to populate a separate text field with "The student will use new vocabulary that is introduced and taught directly" when I select the benchmark LA.1112.1.6.1 from the drop down list.  I would like to be able to do this with all the benchmarks.

I am not sure if I have explained myself clearly, but any suggestions/solutions at a very, very elementary level would be greatly appreciated.  (Feel free to include pictures showing the steps; those help.)

Thanks,

Patrick

12 Replies

Level 5

Hi Patrick,

Can I just calrify. Are you creating the form using Livecycle Designer and using it to create a PDF that you will then use in Adobe Pro 9?

Regards

Malcolm

Level 2

The form already existed; I am modifying it in Adobe LifeCycle.

Level 5

Hi,

Can you post the form ( using acrobat.com or dropbox ..... ) so that we can work from where you have started and this should mean that you can hopefully follow what we are suggesting and therefore help you understand.

Regards

Malcolm

Level 2

Not sure how to post the form to the site (?).

Level 5