Expand my Community achievements bar.

Dive into Adobe Summit 2024! Explore curated list of AEM sessions & labs, register, connect with experts, ask questions, engage, and share insights. Don't miss the excitement.

Do I need a consultant?

Level 1

I have a project where I am probably willing to pay for assistance, assuming that what I want can be done relatively easily.  (I used to be a programmer and I still think like a programmer, but I make money being a lawyer, not a programmer).

Goal:  The ability for my clients to see a form, which is updated on a regular basis (by us and by them) to reflect the status of their cases, and then to have a simple database (even just an Excel spreadsheet) which summarizes the information for each of the matters.

Existing work product: A LiveCycle ES form (currently about 4 pages long) which I have very carefully prepared and customized to capture the selected data.  We have filled out those forms (same form, 70 different copies for 70 different cases) and they are posted on a secure site (using Interwoven) where they are each strored as a separate document.  We can access them and the client can access them.  They are changed and then they are saved.

Issues:  #1 - When I want to change the form, all of the data needs to be retyped, because there is no "back end" storage.

#2 - When I want to see the status of the 70 matters, to find certain information, I need to open each of the 70 forms.

Goal:  Create a "backend", hopefully as simple as an Excel spreadsheet or an Access database, where the data is stored.  Each case has its own "number", so the forms should be populated based on that number.

If anyone has ideas and/or wants to discuss what this would take, I would appreciate posting here and/or contact.

sbrower@cox.net

3 Replies

Level 4

Hi Steve

To dynamically populate fields of another database or save a filled out form, you will need additional licenses.