Expand my Community achievements bar.

Data Extraction from Dynamic XML Form

Level 2

Hi All,

MY PROBLEM

I am looking for some assistance with extracting data from a Dynamic XML Form; I created in Designer (ver. 8.2). I am sure this is a simple fix but, as I am relatively new to Designer the solution eludes me. I have perused through many of the Forums but have not found a solution to fit my needs.

MY FORM

The form I created is an internal document that will never see the “light of day”, that is to say that it is hosted on an intranet server. The form is distributed internally and the data is “Manually collected in my email”. The form has an embedded XML file that allows user to select Name, ID and some other particulars.

Link to My Form: http://www.maineptac.org/FORMS/Test3.pdf

THE ISSUE

I cannot figure out the process of extracting data from a Distributed form that has been sent by email. I have followed the steps of properly distributing the form, but when I receive the respondents “filled form” I am unable to extract the data i.e. Export, Manage Data, SaveAs, Open Table in Spreadsheet or the other means available in Adobe Acrobat Pro 9.

All ideas are welcome and appreciated.

Jeff

9 Replies

Level 9

Hello Jeff,

Though I am not clear,still you can try this. I do not find a Submit button in your form. Ideally, you should have a submit button. This thing is quite easy if the form submit the data as XML. When you receive the completed form data as XML you can extract the data by the following method.

Open the original form in Acrobat. Click : Forms -> manage Form Data - > Import data. Now you can browse through the XML file sent.Click on OK and you can see the form data in your original form.

Thanks.

Bibhu.

Level 2

Good day Bibhu,