Expand my Community achievements bar.

Dive into Adobe Summit 2024! Explore curated list of AEM sessions & labs, register, connect with experts, ask questions, engage, and share insights. Don't miss the excitement.
SOLVED

Connecting a drop down box and text field

Level 2

Untitled.jpg

I am new to livecycle and have only been using it for 2 days. I have be so grateful for all the amazing expert help I have found here. I believe my first form is almost complete. I am having a problem with one last issue. I created a database with two fields. field 1 is Name and displays a name IE John Doe, Field 2 is ID and contains a unique string such as 12345678. I created a drop down box for the Name and it works great, I can see all the names in the database. I then created a text field which I would like to display the ID in.

Example when

Name                            ID

John Doe                   12345678

And if another use is selected

Name                            ID

Jane Doe                   12345987

How do I connect these two fields to display the correct data?

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Level 10

Hi,

When you bound the drop down to the data connection did you set the Item Value and Item Text properties in this dialog

DynamicProperties.PNG

If you had set the Item Value to the ClientID, that would get the client name and the client id into the dropdown control of the form, then this.boundItem(xfa.event.change) when xfa.event.change contains a value from Item Text will return the Item Value (or the client id in your case)

Regards

Bruce

View solution in original post

14 Replies

Level 10

Hi,

In the change event of the client drop down you could add the following JavaScript.

ClientId.rawValue = this.boundItem(xfa.event.change);

Assuming that the "Client #" field is called ClientId.

Regards

Bruce

Level 2

That works to populate the clientID with the name but that is not what I am trying to do.

Untitled11.jpg

Here is the database