Expand my Community achievements bar.

Combining Text Boxes for Text Flow and Making Two Drop-downs Always the Same Selection

Level 2

I am a layman and I am sure that these are basic problems, but I have searched the forums for answers to no avail:

1. I need to combine text boxes so that text flows into the second box (I still need to limit the text to the visible area).  Unfortunately, I cannot just use one box and allow multiple lines. 
  2. I have two drop-down boxes that I want to always be the same selection.  That is, if one is changed, the other should reflect the change and vice-versa.  I have created two identical boxes with identical selections, but I cannot seem to make the selection always the same. 

Are these possible, and if so how?  Any help would be appreciated.  I have the LiveCyle Designer 8 that came with Acrobat Pro 8.  I only saw boards for 6.0-7.0 and ES, so I hope I am in the right place.  Again, any help at all would be greatly appreciated.

6 Replies

Former Community Member

Yes, you are in the right forum and both these tasks are possible. Can you attach your PDF to a post and specify exactly what you need done (in terms of the name of the text fields that you need for the runover and the matching drop-down names etc). May I ask why you cant use 1 box with multiple lines? And if not, can you limit the text input to a certain amount of characters (eg 10 or 50). That makes it easier to code.

Level 10

Check the attached PDF and tell me is this what you need?

Nith

Level 2

Darn, it is that complicated, huh?  I certainly would have uploaded the form the first time but, I work for a small company that is so strict about documents that they won't let me put it out here.  I was hoping it was easy enough to do myself with a little direction, but anything that requires coding is obviously not.  I very much appreciate your offer to help and wish I could take advantage of it.  Thanks Again.