Expand my Community achievements bar.

Color a field

Level 2

Hello,

I am new to LiveCylce and I have a question.

I own a auto repair shop and have a vehicle inspection form that I use for vehicles that come into the shop. Each item on the form has three checkboxes labeled for the condition of the item.

I am trying to make a new inspection form and each item on the inspection form would have one rectangle next to it that I would be able to change color depending on the condition of the item "Red" for severe or safety issue "Yellow" for recommended & "Green" for acceptable.

I would like to have three buttons on the form that when pressed would change the color of the rectangle that I am on for each color labeled  Severe, Recommended & Acceptable. Or one button that could be pressed once for Red twice for yellow and three times for green. I just want to have one instance of this on the form so I don't have buttons all over the place.

I have attached a pdf of the old form so you can see what it consisted of.

Thanks in advance

48 Replies

Level 10

Hi John,

Glad you got the form working the way you want it, including the mandatory fields.

You can have new lines/paragraphs in the caption area of the object, but the object must be high enough to accommodate multiple lines.

If you set the top and bottom margins to zero (Layout tab), then the minimum height for the texfield with two lines at 10pt and bold would be 0.3968in. If you reduced the font down to 8pt, then the height would be 0.3350in.

To be honest I don't think you have enough room on the form for these fields to have two lines in the caption.

If you do want to display two lines in the caption, just double click the caption area to edit it and Enter/Return will insert a new line. You can use Unicode in the XML Source: 
 will start a new paragraph. 

Parallels Desktop.png