Expand my Community achievements bar.

Learn about Edge Delivery Services in upcoming GEM session
SOLVED

Checkbox

Former Community Member

I am very new to creating forms, and need some step by step help with a question.

I am in the process of creating a form and have several instances where I have yes or no questions with checkboxes.  If the user checks no then they need to answer an additional question.  How can I set the form to hide the additional question and only appear if the user selects no?

Thanks

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Level 10

Hi Sonya,

For some reason the form didn't come through in one piece (corrupted). I could open it but it did not recognise the format). Anyway I got the intent of the form, so here is another sample, which may be a bit closer to what you want:

https://acrobat.com/#d=ALebgueDXjewHjGyYRdrmw

If you look at the form you will see that I have a static text object for the question and then a radio button group. The group has script in the click event that checks the value of the group (was Yes clicked or No clicked?) and then takes appropriate action - either shows or hides the additional question.

Parallels Desktop1.png

When you select the radio button group you can see in the Object > Binding tab that Yes = 1 and No = 2. Then if you look in the Script Editor there is Javascript to show or hide the subform that contains the additional question.

I have wrapped the additional question objects (text object and radio button object) in the subform because this makes it easier to show and hide (you have to script for one object instead of many objects).

Have a look at this and come back if you need help.

Good luck,

Niall

View solution in original post

16 Replies

Level 10

Hi,