Expand my Community achievements bar.

Calculate only checked boxes that are checked. Other "lines" of boxes do not have a value. HELPPPPPP

Level 2

I have say 6 possible lines. Each line will allow the user to enter employee goals. Then to the right of that, there are radio buttons that the user will check, marking the percentage that particular goal is complete. However, not every employee will have 6 goals, they may only have 3 and some may have all 6 or say, 2. What I want to do is only calculate those lines which have a goal and a percentage marked. So in the end, I want to total the checked boxes which will each have a value and then divide that by the number of goals for that particular employee.

PLEASE, explain this to me so I can understand it. Like I said, I am extremely new to creating forms and LiveCycle. I really hope I can get the answer to this.

Thank you in advance.

11 Replies

Former Community Member

At first I recommend to you to use Checkboxes instead of RadioButton. Reason is, that RadioButton can not be unselected by clicking on themselves.

Secondly: Why do you limit the possible entries to 6? Or is this just to explain the problem?

If I were you I would calculate the value of each line in the "Exit" event of the percentage field and write the result in a hidden field in the same line (I suppose you do have a weighting and a percentage to calcualte, right? Is it about staff appraisals?).

You will then have the sum of each line in a hidden field.

All you have to do then is running through all those hidden fields and summarize them in case the checkbox is ticked.

Level 2