Expand my Community achievements bar.

basic problem

Level 1

I am new to the product and am testing to see if it will do what I need. So far, I have not been able to get a simple process to work.

I am attempting to conditionally control the appearance of a subform with FormCalc script. I have added script to the ready:form event. The script is very simple:

form1::ready:form - (FormCalc, client)

xfa.host.messageBox(Concat("FlexField36 = ", form1..FlexField36), "Debug", 0)

if (HasValue(form1..FlexField36)) then

form1..Loan2Data.presence = "visible"

endif

if (HasValue(form1..FlexField39)) then

form1..Loan3Data.presence = "visible"

endif

This fires when I show the form in preview. However, when I run the form through a "mail merge" program to fill in the fields and then open the form in reader, the event does not fire. What am I doing wrong?
tia - marc

7 Replies

Level 10

Hi Marc,

It looks like your object references may be the problem. There is a double fullstop inbetween the "form1" and each object.

Try:

form1.FlexField36 

Hope that helps,

Niall

Level 10

Hi,

you can surely use .. to search for a form object.

If you want to start from the root node use always "form" not the name you gave your root node.

Try this in the layoutReady:event.

var Ref = form..FlexField36

$host.messageBox(Concat("FlexField36 = ", Ref), "Debug", 0)

if (HasValue(Ref)) then

form..Loan2Data.presence = "visible"

else

form..Loan2Data.presence = "invisible"

endif

Level 1

thanks radzmar, using form vs. form1 is helpful. I have to have another person run the merge program to see if it worked. I will post my results.

Level 10

Thanks Radzmar,

You learn something new every day - I didn't know the "form.." approach.

https://acrobat.com/#d=pZx8DPTyHcvWv*Ed2NkwJw

It seems to be a FormCalc only approach, as it throws an XML error in JavaScript.