Expand my Community achievements bar.

SOLVED

Assigning global variables

Level 2

I apologize if this is a basic and simple question but I have been pulling my hair out for the last week trying to get this to work and Google is getting sick and tired of my questioning them for answers.  This shouldn't be that difficult but I'm not a designer, nor a programmer, I'm just a tech trying to make my people's lives easier, so yes, I brought this upon myself.

I have converted an InDesign form that has a bunch of check boxes into a LiveCycle document.  I want the check boxes when they are checked to assign a value to it's assocated variable.  In the form properties I have set up the global variables and assigned the value of each to "0". 

For the check box I have set the change method/property to have the following code:

if (topmostSubform.Page1.Back_Cover.rawValue==1)

BC.value=6300;

else

BC.value=0;

I have a textbox that I am trying to take all of these values and based on what is checked and what is not it should calculate the total for that field.  Here is the code I have for calculating the text value using the calculate method/property:

premium.rawValue = BC.value + IFC.value + IBC.value;  //there are three check boxes associated with this value

However, no matter what I do no values seem to get assigned to the BC variable.

Can someone please point me in the right direction as to why this isn't working?

Thank you very much.

Tom

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Level 10

Hi,

I think Steve is right, you want to avoid using global (or form) variables in this case, especially in the calculate event as any changes in there value wont cause a recalculation.  I would also try and keep all the calculation logic in the one place.  So in the calculate event of the premium field I would put the following JavaScript;

this.rawValue = (Back_Cover.rawValue === "On") ? 6300 : 0;

this.rawValue += (Inside_Front_Cover.rawValue === "On") ? 5775 : 0;