Expand my Community achievements bar.

$. and $record. Same XML schema

Level 1

Hi all,

I'm new to Livecycle Designer and just trying to find my way through it at the moment.

However, I have created two forums using the same XML Schema as the dataconnections. When I create fields in each form one binds the field using $. and the other binds using $record. !?

Any idea why this is ?

Thanks for any help!

Conal

4 Replies

Former Community Member

If  there is a subform above the node that is bound the relative path of $. is used meaning  that this binding is relative to the one above it. If you use an absolute binding (no nodes above it were bound) the the $record. is used

Make sense?

Paul

Level 1

Hi Paul,

Thanks for the reply.

Yes it does make sense. However, what I have is two forms which are identical and use exactly the same XML schema as their data connections. In one form all the bindings use $. and in the other $record.

A problem occurs when I create a Fragment using the same XML Schema as a datasource. The fragment uses $. for all the bindings and not $record. When I insert the Fragment into the form which uses $record. it appears as a different connection. If I insert the fragment into the form which uses $.it is fine.

Does than make sense ?

Actually, if I delete the data connection and create the same data connection again it removes the $record and replace it with $.. Sometimes however it reverts back to $record and I have to create the data connection again.

All suggestions welcome !

Thanks for the help !

Conal

Former Community Member