Expand my Community achievements bar.

Dive into Adobe Summit 2024! Explore curated list of AEM sessions & labs, register, connect with experts, ask questions, engage, and share insights. Don't miss the excitement.

Using importdata to import xml data into dynamic PDF form

Level 8
Level 8
Hi again,

Me and my colleagues have a problem using the importData service to import some xml data into an empty PDF form (represented as an XFA input variable).

In the server log I get the error that Only XDP data is supported for XFA forms, however I only have the xml data and not the entire xdp available.

Is this really not possible to to (like importing xml data to a form is possible in the Designer when creating forms).

I hope the scenario is understandable

Sincerely

Kim Christensen

Dafolo A/S

Denmark

PS: During the various projects I am working on I keep running into problems...however I am totally new to LiveCycle so I consider this very informative learning steps and appreciate all your help :-)
16 Replies

Level 10
XDP data doesn't mean you need the whole XDP definition in there. This is valid xfa data that works with the importData:<br /><br /><?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?><xfa:datasets xmlns:xfa="http://www.xfa.org/schema/xfa-data/1.0/"><br /><xfa:data><br /><form1><br /><TextField1>aaaaaa</TextField1><br /><TextField2>bbbbb</TextField2><br /><TextField3>cccc</TextField3><br /><TextField4>cddddd</TextField4><br /></form1><br /></xfa:data><br /></xfa:datasets><br /><br />If that's not good for you, then you can always the renderPDFForm from the LC Forms service to merge your data with the PDF.<br /><br />Jasmin

Level 9
We have a pair of operations that will append and remove the XPD "envelope" elements from an XML file, inside an orchestration. These may help...

Check out

http://avoka.dnsalias.com/confluence/display/Public/XML+Utilities+DSC

Howard

http://www.avoka.com

Level 8
Level 8