Expand my Community achievements bar.

Dive into Adobe Summit 2024! Explore curated list of AEM sessions & labs, register, connect with experts, ask questions, engage, and share insights. Don't miss the excitement.

System Date Calculation

Former Community Member
Good day and thanks in advance for your help. I am new to Adobe users forums as of Yesterday 6-24-08. I am also new to the designing of these forms but I think I am going to like it. My question is: Can I calculate the difference between 2 dates and get a results of make the finish date be 30 days later than the original date.

Example in excel, for instance: Cells A1 & B1 are dates fields and in A1 I use todays date 6/25/08 and in B1 put this coded =A1+29 then B1 results will be show the date of 7/24/08 which is 30 days out.

Is this possible?
16 Replies

Level 7
Yes, one can use FormCalc functions or the JavaScript date time object.

FormCalc has a "Date2Num()" function to get the number of days since the Epoch date and the "Num2Date()" function to convert the number days since the Epoch date to a date string.

JavaScirpt is more complex and computes dates based on the milliseconds from the Epoch date.

There is more information about the FormCalc date and time functions in the Scripting references provided with LiveCycle Designer.

Former Community Member
Thank you so very much for your immediate response. I have seem some example in the forum, but I can't seem to get it to work. I think I have placed them in the right place on the form here is what I have done thus far:

if (Date1.rawValue ne null) then

Num2Date(Date2Num(Date1.rawValue, "MM/DD/YYYY") + 29, "MM/DD/YYYY")

else

null

endif

Is there anyting else I need to add to make this code work.

Thanks for your help.

Level 7
Have you tried the "formattedValue" and make sure the date string is formatted in the same manner as your parameter srting.

Former Community Member