Expand my Community achievements bar.

Dive into Adobe Summit 2024! Explore curated list of AEM sessions & labs, register, connect with experts, ask questions, engage, and share insights. Don't miss the excitement.

Output form as PDF

Former Community Member
Please forgive what must be a very basic question - but I'm new to using LiveCycle and am having trouble finding enought clear documentation to do some simle things in my workflow... What I'd like to do is add a step at the end of my workflow to save the form as a .pdf file on the server. I've attempted to use the "Write Document" service but this fails. What confuses me is what to put in the "Document" input variable. I have an xfaForm variable - do I somehow have to reference this and/or convert it to a document type variable which is then referenced in this step?
12 Replies

Level 10
A document variable (com.adobe.idp.Document) can contain pretty much any type of information. Typically that's the data type LiveCycle uses to store the PDF. It also uses that data type to store XML and other things.

When you define your xfaForm variable, you point to a file in the repository to be the form template. The form template doesn't get added to the xfaForm variable. It's just a pointer to it. The xfaForm variable will just contain the data for the form template with a pointer to the form in the repository.

In your case, you use a PDF in you xfaForm variable. That will still work, but you won't be able to write the PDF to the file system by writing the xfaForm variable since it just contains a pointer to the pdf in the repository.

I'm not sure what your process actually does but if you want to write the PDF to the file system, you'll need to find a way to put that PDF back into a "document" variable before you use the "Write Document" operation.

You can use the Read Resource Content operation from the Repository service to read the PDF from the repository and that will put it in a "document" variable.