Expand my Community achievements bar.

Need help with form fields.

Former Community Member
I am completely new to this. I made a form with excel to keep it as close to the original as possible. When I finally get the form into LCD it says it contains artwork. I would like to place a "current date" field but it won't work. Is there any way to do this? Once I get that to work I have to figure out how to create a numeric field that is populated by the date and a sequential number. Then after all that I need to have it take the data from two fields on each document and populate a field on each document opened before printing. Without using the internet. Maybe a small local server or somehow through html? I think I am in way over my head since I can't even get the "current date" to work. By the way I am using Live Cycle designer 8.0
6 Replies

Former Community Member
Under the object palette there are different object libraries. Choose the custom library and there us a current date object that exists in there. Simply drag and drop it on the form. It will use your system date format by default.

Former Community Member
Yes I've got this. It's just that it doesn't work. I get a message about "parts of this object cannot be used in forms with pdf artwork". It will put the box there but it does nothing.

Former Community Member
Ok I got it wrking. I had to spend a couple of hours playingwiththe settings. Now when I preview as pdf and adjust th date it gives me a pop up calendar. I can select a date on this and it displays the day of the week then the date spelled out. This is perfect except for the day of the week part. This field is completely unnecessary. I will try to figure this out when I get time unless someone can make a suggestion.

Edit: Nevermind I figured it out. Any Ideas on the scripts to run to populate field data from other fields. Or somewhere to study this?

Former Community Member