Expand my Community achievements bar.

locale zh_CN incorectlly causes display of yen currency symbol

Former Community Member
Thank you for taking the time to read my question. This is my first time using Livecycle Designer and I have no prior javascripting experience, so please be detailed if you have an answer for me and the other nubies who read this.

Summary: I am summing some numeric fields containing monetary values. I am scripting the locale of each fields so that the currency symbol changes based on a user selection from a drop-down. This is working for USD, Euro, and Pound. The 'Yuan' symbol which denotes the Chinese Renimbi displays as a Japanese Yen symbol. (In testing, the code for Japan also brings the Yen symbol)

* I am going to refer to currency symbols in the following description with $,L,E,R,Y for USD,POUNDS,RENIMBI,YEN, respectively because I am unsure they will display properly on this forum if I merely type them, or paste them in. Please bear with me.

Details: I have a drop-down list for the type of currency to be specified by the end user. Each currency displayed is bound to a locale code as follows. The locale codes themselves are found in the Livecycle Designer help file after searching for 'locale'.

USD en_US

EUROS en_GB_EURO

POUNDS en_GB

RENIMBI zh_CN

The code that changes the locale on each of the individual text fields is in the calculate event and is described as follows:

this.locale = (SOM of the currency drop-down list).rawValue

I should mention the display pattern for these fields is num{($z,zzz,zz9.99)} which means that when the user selects POUNDS from the drop-down menu, and types '4566' into one of the numeric fields, 'L4,566.00' is displayed. This works for USD, EUROS, POUNDS & YEN but RENIMBI produces 'Y4,566.00'

Changing the font does not appear to help, but I am using Myriad Pro.

Adobe states the following about its basic fonts: