Expand my Community achievements bar.

Livecycle - Printing Text field

Former Community Member
I am new to using livecycle. I have created a form with a multiline text fields. I noticed when the text field is filled in with information and it exceeds the what you can "see" on the screen a scroll bar turns on so you can view the entire inputted text.

My problem is with printing. When the PDF file is filled in and the above situation occurs, it will only print what can be viewed in the text box on the screen. All the other data that you would have to scroll down to see in the electronic file is not printed. Any help is appreciated. Thank you.
13 Replies

Former Community Member
There are a number of ways to handle this and it ranges from the simple to the complicated.

1. You can limit the amount of input that goes into the field to the visible area. This way no scroll bars will appear and there will be no area off screen. To do this put focus on the field in question and in the Object/Field palette click on the "Limit Length to Visible Area" checkbox.

2. You can have it so that when a user fills the box the text will shrink to fit the visible area. Put Focus on your field object. Do not limit the length to visible area. In the font palette (if it is not visible hit shift - F4). Make sure that you are only editing the value property. Set the font to 0.

3. Redo the form so that the field will automatically grow when the field is overflowed. The scroll bars will appear when you are typing in th efield put when you leave the field it will grow to accomodate the text. There is an example of doing this in the Purchase Order sample that ships with the product. You will have to redesign your form to build it as a dynamic form. Follow this example if you want this solution. Look in the designer install directory/EN/Samples/Forms/Purchase Order/Dynamic Interactive/Forms