Expand my Community achievements bar.

Learn about Edge Delivery Services in upcoming GEM session

LiveCycle Designer 8.0 Drop-down menu help - newbie

Former Community Member
I am new with LiveCycle and do not know much about coding and the like. I've search the forums and have not found quite what I need. (It might be because I don't know the correct terms to search - so I apologize in advance if there was a previous posting regarding this)

I am creating a form for lab tests for referring physicians to fill out.

for simplicity, I will just use the state, city example.

>>>>>> QUESTION 1.

I have dragged/dropped a drop-down menu icon onto the form, gone through the Palette>Object>Field>List Items to compile the list of states (in my real case, a list of lab tests)

How can I get the second drop down menu to show the corresponding cities based on the "state" selected in the first drop down menu? So that when I choose "California" I have the option in the second drop-down menu to choose from "Los Angeles," "Orange County," "Long Beach," etc

VERSUS

if I select "Texas" the list will retrieve "Houston," "Sugarland," "Dallas," etc.

I read about hardcoding and although I'm not quite sure what that means, I think that is what I will be doing as I will not be referencing outside of my form.

Also, the items in these menus are long/descriptive in nature, is there a way to refer to the lists in the code without having to type everything out? In my form (instead of "state") I will have lab tests "Test_1" with CPT codes attached, that is the list includes items like:

93880 - carotid duplex scan, bilateral

93882 - carotid duplex scan, unilateral

and in drop-down list 2 I have items like:

454.0 - varicose vein with ulcer

454.1 - varicose veins with inflammation

it would be such a pain to type each out in the code, but if there are no other ways around it, that is fine too.

>>>>>>> QUESTION 2.