Expand my Community achievements bar.

how to make text after a text field move its position

Former Community Member
Hi,

I tried to seach forums but did not really find an answer for this.

We would like to create forms where custom text is entered in a form text field (or chosen from drop down list of preselected text strings) within (between) standard text.

For example: Please inform us within [drop down text choices: two days; three days; four days] about your preferred choice.

The issue is that I can not find a way to make the standard text after the field to move itself depending on the length of text in the form field so that text continues normally after the field and there would be no gap or over-coverage. In some cases the drop down can include text choices with very different length so in ideal case the standard text should be able to adjust itself also over several lines.

Can anybody please help? Thanks.

Hando

P.S. I am really new to using LC Designer, so the more detailed the answer, the better ... :)

P.S.S. I am using version 8.0 of LiveCycle Designer.
5 Replies

Level 5
Inserting a floating field may be you want to consider. Check the help files on this item.

Former Community Member
Thanks,

Yes I looked into this option, but as far as I understand floating fields can only be related to data sources. They can not be filled in manually when filling in the form.

In our case often unique custom text needs to be entered in the text field, so using a floating field would not really work. If there is a way to make floating field so that it can simply be filled in, I would be very interested to know that. Although drop down choices could not be used then, it would still help me a step further.

Level 5
I worked on similar requirements in the past. Here are two options I use that time.

1. Use a dropdown above the field text and script the events to populate the floating field in the text.