Expand my Community achievements bar.

FormCalc Question for LiveCycle Designer in Acrobat 8.0

Former Community Member
Hi,

I can't figure out how to write a calculation in FormCalc so that n (the number entered into the form field) multiplied by .485 equals X. This calculation is so that someone filling out the form can enter the number of miles driven and the form automatically converts the miles to the dollar amount based on the IRS mileage reimbursement. So n=some number multiplied by .485. I have tried:

n * .0485

n*.485

fieldnam * .485

and various permutations setting the parameters to "calculate" and "FormCalc". The field is currently a decimal field, and I've tried it as numeric with no luck.

Any ideas? This is, of course, one in a series of calculations for a reimbursement form. And, as you can tell, I am a newbie. I've made plenty of forms, just none that do math.

Thanks,

Catherine
7 Replies

Former Community Member
You are very close. Make sure your FormCalc Calculation event is set to run on the field that will display the reimbursement value.

MilesDrivenFieldName * .485

Carl Young

http://www.pdfconference.com

Former Community Member
Hi,

Thanks. Actually, after pondering this I realized I was going about it all wrong. The calculation was the first in a series of three calculations. The sedond summed this field, plus two others. So, since the sum worked I wrote:

sum ((fieldname1 * .485), fieldname2, fieldname3)

That did the trick. I also changed the fieldname1 to be a numeric field instead of a decimal field. It works and all is right in the world.

Thanks and I'm sure that your suggestion works as well - I'll go test it out.

-Catherine

Former Community Member
hi,

i want to know if i can use a calculation function to text, for example for the days of the week, using the function "if" or another. please see the next:

if d1 = sunday then d2 = monday elseif d1 = monday then d2 = tuesday ...