Expand my Community achievements bar.

Dive into Adobe Summit 2024! Explore curated list of AEM sessions & labs, register, connect with experts, ask questions, engage, and share insights. Don't miss the excitement.

Flexible content lengths in form fields - how?

Former Community Member
Hi everyone,

I am new at this Designer tool and need help regarding flexible contents inside form fields.

1. Inside my pattern-form there are fields for customer/product-contents which VARY their size.

--> Example: If field #a gets a size of 20 lines instead of 5, field #b (below #a) MUST move/relocate downwards.

(It is not acceptable to offer a maximum sized field only = I need flexible frames!)

2. Ideal would be: If form #a becomes too big, the form should be able to push field #b to the following page.

Can someone explain me the steps how to do produce a form which contains the requirements above? Many thanks in advance!

Matt
7 Replies

Level 2
Hi Matt,

this issue should be resolved by placing the fields in question inside a sub-form. Subforms can either be Positioned (where the fields cannot grow) or Flowed (where the fields can grow).

To do this you can Ctrl+select all the fields in the hierarchy view and right-click --> Wrap in Subform.

This will alter the hierarchy structure; you will see the fields under your new subform.

Next, go to the Object's tab (once you have selected the subform) and change the property to 'Flowed' (the alternative is Positioned). Once you have changed it to Flowed, you have the option of flowing it either Top to bottom or Western Text (from left to right). This choice must be based on your requirement.

I won't lie - the Flowed/Positioned subform option can be tricky, the 'Margins'settings can mess with the rest of your layout. If this subform thing throws off your layout too much, you can also place Positioned subforms within it - just remember those subforms will not grow. Testing will reveal what suits you best.