Expand my Community achievements bar.

Drop Down List of hyperlinks - How To question

Former Community Member
Hello all.<br /><br />I am a new user of Designer 7.0. (I like it)<br /><br />I would like to make a drop down list populated with hyperlinks. The result would be a user able to select a topic from a list; and on click or separate 'go' button populated with the selected text, have that selection take them to a declared URL with a target of 'new' or 'blank.' <br /><br />I've struggled to find a solution within properties panes such as 'Bindings', and on exposing the XML, would think that all I need to do is modify the <text> tags.<br /><br />Can I get some advice or a pointer to a sample? I would be most appreciative.<br /><br />Thank you<br />Steven Seim<br />sseim@comcast.net<br />steven.seim@us.wdsglobal.com
9 Replies

Former Community Member
Here's a simple example.

Chris

Adobe Enterprise Developer Support

Former Community Member
Thank you for the speedy response Chris. I understand your solution, and can use it.<br /><br />I have to admit I was wrapping myself around modifying the <text> tags, and looking to see if I could leverage the 'bindings' tab.<br /><br />Might this be a DCR (Design Change Request) for a version to come? Why not instrument a 'Links to...' option.<br /><br />Much obliged<br />Steven

Former Community Member
My question is similar to Steve's, and it gets to his question regarding a links option. Even without the drop down box, how can you insert a button that, when depressed, will take someone to a linked address? Specifically I am trying to put a button on the form that when depressed it will take someone to the Adobe site to download a free copy of the Adobe Reader, but my question is more general on how to cause buttons to have links.

Thanks

Kelly

Former Community Member
Kelly,