Expand my Community achievements bar.

Dive into Adobe Summit 2024! Explore curated list of AEM sessions & labs, register, connect with experts, ask questions, engage, and share insights. Don't miss the excitement.

Design Choices and is LiveCycle needed? best practices for using RTMP/AMF over HTTP/XML communicatio

Former Community Member
Hi,

I am new to flex/RIA. I am exploring different design choices especially in client server communication. On client side we will be using Flash based RIA (using Actions scripts).

There will be some simple forms (like for login, registration, payments etc) and some simple reports including with several graphs and charts. Each chart might have 1000 to 1500 data points etc. There are not video or audio content as such. On server side we have Servlets, java API and some EJBs to provide the business logic and real time prices/content (price update is usually every 10 seconds) /data. Some of the content will be static as well.

I have following questions in my mind. Is it worth it to use RTMP/AMF channels for the followings?

1. For simple forms processing (Mapping Actions scripts classes to Java classes). Like to display/retrieve/update data for/from registration forms.

a. If yes, why? Am I going to be stuck with LCDS? Is it worth it? What could be the cons for heavy usage/traffic scenarios

b. If not what are the alternates? Should I create the web services? Or only servlets are sufficient (ie. Only HTTP+Java based server side with no LCDS+RTMP+AMF)? All forms need to communicate on secure channel.

2. For pushing the real time prices/content which we may need to update every 15 seconds on user interface using graphs and charts. Can I do it with some standard J2EE/JMS way with RIA (Flex) on front-end? i.e. Flash application will keep pulling data from some topic. Data can be updated after few secs or few minutes which cant be predicted.