Expand my Community achievements bar.

Deploying compiled Workspace ES for testing

Former Community Member
Hello,

Looking at the document customizeworkspaceui.pdf, I have created a Flex project using WS source. Do configurations and build the project. "bin" folder is regenerated with new items. After that "Deploying the compiled Workspace ES application for testing" part, I have put the bin folder's content under testWorkspace directory inside jboss-webtomcat../ROOT.war. When I tried to refer from the explorer as localhost:8080/testWorkspace/Main.htm, nothing displays except a blank page. The "initializing" progress bar do not display. What can be the problem. Do I need any configuration to create new custom workspace? How can I package them as a client "war" and "ear"?

Thanks

Asiye
23 Replies

Level 3
Hi flexair

Thank you for the advice but I still could not get Flex Builder 3 to compile my .swf correctly - I'm new to Flex Builder so it is probably entirely my fault.

However I found a download of the original Flex SDK 2 Hotfix 2 (which to lc-customisation instructions refer to) so I De-installed Flex Builder 3, installed Flex 2 Hotfix 2, and used the Flex 2 command line to compile the new workspace-theme.swf file.

This then worked correctly when re-built into my customworkspace-client.ear file.

I'm happy to find a solution, but it is a shame that Adobe do not provide instructions to customise LC ES Workspace using Flex Builder 3 as that is now seems the only version available to download or purchase.

Stuart

Former Community Member
At the time the documentation was written, only Flex Builder 2 was available. Agreed, that instructions should include Flex Builder 3 as that is what is available now. We'll raise a bug to get that resolved.

YOu can compile using Flex Builder 3 by changing the compile version in Flex Builder 3 (which uses Flex 2 SDK (hotfix 3, which includes hotfix 2).

To compile using Flex 2 SDK in Flex Builder 3: