Expand my Community achievements bar.

Dive into Adobe Summit 2024! Explore curated list of AEM sessions & labs, register, connect with experts, ask questions, engage, and share insights. Don't miss the excitement.

Cancel print call...?

Former Community Member
I've designed an eForm that is intended to be filled out in Reader, printed, signed, then submitted for processing. I have a number of required fields and have created the logic (in the PrePrint event) to check that these fields are populated, generating an error message if the check fails.

However, I still need to cancel the print call if any of the required fields are not populated...can anyone help me with the Javascript to do that? (My apologies if this is a stupid question...I'm a Java newbie to the Nth degree).

Thanks in advance!

Paul
7 Replies

Level 7
I don't believe you can prevent the user from printing, other than by

permanently blocking it.

Aandi Inston

Former Community Member
It's not that I want to prevent the print function....I need to abort the print request until all of the required fields are populated.

Former Community Member
Paul,

I would check all the required fields to see if the users had already entered all inputs. If all the required fields are filled out, you can can print the PDF. In the example below the javascript is attached to "click" event of a regular button.

Here is an example:

http://66.34.186.88/LiveCycleSamples/.3bbcbbfc.pdf

Former Community Member
Jimmypham...

Thanks for the link, but I've already got that logic working (took it from the "LoopThroughFields.xdp" sample) from the Click event on a generic button. What I'm wanting to do is call this checking function within the Print Button click event in order to have it process as one seamless event. However, IF the checking function returns at least one mandatory field that was not entered, we need to abort the print event.

Make sense? Thanks for your help!

Paul

Level 7