Expand my Community achievements bar.

Dive into Adobe Summit 2024! Explore curated list of AEM sessions & labs, register, connect with experts, ask questions, engage, and share insights. Don't miss the excitement.

Can't get LiveCycle to show/hide subform

Former Community Member
Hi,

I am new to LiveCycle and am developing a quote PDF. Couple of issues with it are:

I have 4 textfields, and for each one, if someone enters a value into it, I want the subform for tha field to appear. Can't seem to get that to work with presence function.

Is there a way to change what people put in fields to sentance or title case?

Most of my quote form is completed internally and we will save the PDF with the input we put in there, and attach it to an email to our clients. We want most of the fields in the PDF to display as text not fields when clients open the PDF, so that they can't change them.

There are 4 fields that we want them to be able to use to OK the quote with 2 buttons, 1 to print it out and the other to email the PDF back to us with their OK.

Can this be done? We have already designed this quote form PDF with all the fields in LiveCycle so I can send it to anyone who wants to look to see if they can help me out.

Much appreciated!
5 Replies

Former Community Member
First up, this document is quite handy and would help answer most of your questions: http://help.adobe.com/en_US/livecycle/es/LiveCycle_Designer_Scripting_Basics.pdf

"presence" is a property, not a function, so you need to do the following:

yourSubFormName.presence = "hidden";

yourSubFormName.presence = "visible";

You can change to title case but will need to find or write a JavaScript function to do this. Call this function from the Exit event of the field, ensuring that the language selected is JavaScript. To add a script, right click on the subform or main form and select Insert Script Object. Give that script block a name (such as "stringFunctions", then add the following to it: