Expand my Community achievements bar.

Can live cycle create a PDF form that is saved on a desktop and filled out simply to be attached to

Former Community Member
I'm new to using LiveCycle to create PDF forms. I have a simple "Request for Quote" form that simply needs to be filled out in Acrobate Reader and then attached to a new Email message that goes to our quoting people.

right now when the form is opened by the users in READER it shows the message PLEASE FILL OUT THE FOLLOWING FORM. YOU CANNOT SAVE DATA TYPED INTO THE FORM. PLEASE PRINT YOUR COMPLETED FORM IF YOU WOULD LIKE A COPY FOR YOUR RECORDS.

Years ago i remember having a simple form that you could just send out have a user fill in the boxes and then just email it back filled in. I love the layout options that LiveCycle gives but i'm having a hard time with a simple "fill this out and email it back" option.

I've been hunting around in LiveCycle for an option that would allow this but i must keep missing it.

any help or ideas??
6 Replies

Former Community Member
You can do that ....simply add a button ....make it a submit button. You can then change th esubmit options to send pdf and then set the submit URL to use the mailto protocol. Do a web search on mailto and you will see how to set that parameter.

Former Community Member
thanks paul i'm going to look into that option right after i hit POST MESSAGE..

thanks again..

Former Community Member
that was just what i needed.. thanks again paul it worked like a charm

Former Community Member
perhaps under this topic you can help me too !!

I have created a form from a template, and another from a custom word doc, both with form fields these all work well.

I know want to use them as customer order forms with email submission, so have placed a submit button on them & set up the return email address & subject line.