Expand my Community achievements bar.

SOLVED

Is there a limitation for installing no of Extensions in Adobe Launch

Level 2

I am new to Adobe Launch, there are many requests coming from marketing team for which i have to add multiple tags in, my question is, whether I have to be conservative adding these tags in our application? Ultimately adding more and more tags will definitely impact the homepage performance.

Are there any best practices or strategy i have to consider before i start adding all these pixels/tags in my application? 

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Level 4

Great advice from @Alexis_Cazes_ and @thebenrobb ! To add to that:

1.) Create your own set of best practices, taking inputs from your site developers and QA folks to determine how reliable and performant a particular piece of code can be. Typically sites which have had marketing capabilities before the implementation of a tag manager, would need those implemented by a developer directly on the site code (then typically tested before releasing) - so your colleagues can be a great allies here.

2.) Pixel code has tons of potentially needless fallbacks. HTML injections, 1x1 image requests, <noscript> tags,etc - and often they're all provided to the marketing team verbatim with some comments in the code stating "Do not edit anything below this line". Evaluate these with your developers and determine what is required. Pixels typically just send a few parameters over to the individual vendor, so they don't need to be over-engineered. 

3.) Build an inventory of all your tags/rules. The requests for new tags/pixels are usually plentiful and have urgent deadlines - removal of these items may not have the same level of attention. Regular inventory and audit can help you keep your tag manager clean and tidy. Note: if there's a rule for a specific tag/pixel which expires 30 days from now, you could even put those into the rule name - might be easier to find later.