While a user is making changes to any rule or data element, autosave the changes periodically (e.g. every minute). If the user is logged out automatically – which erases all unsaved changes, the user can have the option of recovering from his last auto-saved state and pick up his work from there.
The autosave does not need to create a new revision automatically. New revisions should still be made when the user saves manually.