Expand my Community achievements bar.

Dive into Adobe Summit 2024! Explore curated list of AEM sessions & labs, register, connect with experts, ask questions, engage, and share insights. Don't miss the excitement.

Learn to create an AEM component that uses a custom xtype

Level 10

Learn about the following AEM functionality:

• how to develop a CQ component that uses multi-field.
  • how to develop a custom xtype using the AEM widget API.
  • how to read the values entered into custom xtype controls.
  • how to add the custom xtype component to the CQ sidekick. 

See: http://helpx.adobe.com/experience-manager/using/creating-custom-xtype.html.

5 Replies

Level 3

Hi, I am fairly new to AEM development (I have been to Developer Training and then our AEM partner's version of Advanced Developer Training) and am just finally having time to start applying what I learned.  I found your article mentioned above and thought I followed it word for word, but unfortunately when I try to add an item on the component I am getting a javascript error: "ejstcustom not found and no default supplied".  I am using AEM 6.0 and I noticed this article was written for 5.6 and therefore was not pointed necessarily at my version.  I have gone back through the article and double checked that I correctly handled all mentions of ejstcustom.  Please see screenshot below where I show that I double-checked the troubleshooting suggestion at the end of your article.

I would really appreciate any suggestions.  Thanks in advance!

Level 10

As I mentioned on another forum thread - the versions are listed on the articles - as you correctly pointed out. What the error you are getting means is that CQ is not finding the clientlibs folder where the custom xtype is defined. I am going to test this article on AEM 6 to see if there are any issues. It was tested on 5.5, 5.6, and 5.6.1. 

I will post back the results. 

Level 10

Actually - I know the issue. For AEM 6: