Your achievements

Level 1

0% to

Level 2

Tip /
Sign in

Sign in to Community

to gain points, level up, and earn exciting badges like the new
BedrockMission!

Learn More

View all

Sign in to view all badges

Deleting languages copies in AEM 6.2

Avatar

Avatar
Validate 1
Level 1
guillaumem78476
Level 1

Like

1 like

Total Posts

2 posts

Correct Reply

0 solutions
Top badges earned
Validate 1
Boost 1
View profile

Avatar
Validate 1
Level 1
guillaumem78476
Level 1

Like

1 like

Total Posts

2 posts

Correct Reply

0 solutions
Top badges earned
Validate 1
Boost 1
View profile
guillaumem78476
Level 1

24-07-2017

Hi,

I would like to know if there's a way to easily delete language copies from a site.

I've had the scenario where because of a server error or another reason, some files are not committed for translation and left as draft. When that happens, I have no other option but to cancel the translation job to create a new one, but that does not delete the newly created language copy from the site. Every time I have to ask my AEM IT admin to delete those language copies for me. Is that the expected behavior? Is there anything I should or can do differently?

For info I use AEM 6.2 with CrossLang XTM as the connector.

Thanks

Guillaume

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Avatar

Avatar
Validate 1
Level 5
viveksachdeva
Level 5

Likes

52 likes

Total Posts

225 posts

Correct Reply

35 solutions
Top badges earned
Validate 1
Boost 50
Boost 5
Boost 3
Boost 25
View profile

Avatar
Validate 1
Level 5
viveksachdeva
Level 5

Likes

52 likes

Total Posts

225 posts

Correct Reply

35 solutions
Top badges earned
Validate 1
Boost 50
Boost 5
Boost 3
Boost 25
View profile
viveksachdeva
Level 5

24-07-2017

From what I think, language copy is just a way to overcome one by one manual creation of different language sites and there is no relationship maintained in it. So once created, there are like independent content pages/hierarchy. So deleting it is same as deleting a normal page. If you dont have permissions to delete, then you would have to go to your IT team as you said. Having said that, why do you want to delete those even if translation failed. Next time you send it for translation, you anyway would an updated copy, with the translated content. It should not matter whether language copy already existed or was created after you sent it for translation

Answers (1)

Answers (1)

Avatar

Avatar
Boost 3
Level 1
ShakilAhmed
Level 1

Likes

3 likes

Total Posts

8 posts

Correct Reply

0 solutions
Top badges earned
Boost 3
Boost 1
Applaud 5
View profile

Avatar
Boost 3
Level 1
ShakilAhmed
Level 1

Likes

3 likes

Total Posts

8 posts

Correct Reply

0 solutions
Top badges earned
Boost 3
Boost 1
Applaud 5
View profile
ShakilAhmed
Level 1

26-02-2020

you dont have to cancel the translation job, if you go to page from translation project, once selected you can get the option accept or reject the translation. You should reject it instead of canceling and deleting manually. Rejection will allow to you have translations import again and again until you accept it.