Expand my Community achievements bar.

PDF Form with Workflow and Digital Signatures

Level 2

Hello All,

I am very new to AEM space, so please excuse if question sounds very basic to you. But please help me understand the dos and don'ts.

Here is the situation. At our organization, we had been using paper based forms. The users could go online, download the form, print it, fill it (by hand), sign it, scan it and send to appropriate personeel for approval signature. In the end, the form will end up in HR or payables with all required signatures. 

We purchased Adobe's AEM solution to cut down the manual processes. With the purchase, I have installed Adobe's experience manager (6.2) on weblogic server, Forms designer tool and Acrobat Pro on my desktop. With Acrobat Pro, we converted flat PDF forms to fillable PDF forms. As a user I can open the fillable PDF form on my desktop and put my digital signature, but cannot send it to next person for his/her signature. I could also, deploy filable PDFs on AEM's forms portal. From the forms portal I can open the fillable PDF in a new tab in my web browser, but that's it. How can I invoke a workflow or process to move the filled form in the approval chain? Can I use workflow within AEM OR Do we need additional software like livecycle server? I am stuck at this roadblock, the Adobe documentations are humongous and I always loose the track when livecycle and workflow come in picture. I hope this is not something out of the world we are trying to achieve, there must be many of you who have implemented this type of solution. I would really appreciate if someone can (please) list out the tasks that we should follow to achieve this?

Thanks in advance!

Naresh

2 Replies

Level 2

nareshp9284939 wrote...

Hello All,

I am very new to AEM space, so please excuse if question sounds very basic to you. But please help me understand the dos and don'ts.