Does Profile Merge Rules capture a second device if it has not been authenticated?

Avatar

Avatar
Validate 25
Level 4
glennb29356951
Level 4

Likes

59 likes

Total Posts

99 posts

Correct reply

1 solution
Top badges earned
Validate 25
Validate 10
Validate 1
Ignite 1
Give Back 3
View profile

Avatar
Validate 25
Level 4
glennb29356951
Level 4

Likes

59 likes

Total Posts

99 posts

Correct reply

1 solution
Top badges earned
Validate 25
Validate 10
Validate 1
Ignite 1
Give Back 3
View profile
glennb29356951
Level 4

11-07-2018

Good morning,

I think the answer to my question is no but I want to be sure.

If I create a segment with a Profile Merge rule and user one has three devices but has only authenticated on device one does the system capture device two and device three?

Please let me know. Thanks. Glenn

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Avatar

Avatar
Contributor
Employee
Leticia_Isaacs
Employee

Likes

4 likes

Total Posts

13 posts

Correct reply

2 solutions
Top badges earned
Contributor
Shape 1
Give Back
Ignite 1
Validate 1
View profile

Avatar
Contributor
Employee
Leticia_Isaacs
Employee

Likes

4 likes

Total Posts

13 posts

Correct reply

2 solutions
Top badges earned
Contributor
Shape 1
Give Back
Ignite 1
Validate 1
View profile
Leticia_Isaacs
Employee

13-07-2018

Hello Glenn,

You are quite right. In your example, Audience Manager will not tie devices 2 & 3 to a user's profile (until the time when the user authenticates on these devices). We would need a common identifier to tie the user's devices together. This common identifier is the user's Customer ID which is synced with Audience Manager IDs on an authentication event.

Thanks,

Leticia

Answers (0)