Your achievements

Level 1

0% to

Level 2

Tip /
Sign in

Sign in to Community

to gain points, level up, and earn exciting badges like the new
BedrockMission!

Learn More

View all

Sign in to view all badges

What happens to shared metrics, dashboards, and segments when moved to a new user?

Avatar

Avatar
Validate 1
Level 1
jessica_mays
Level 1

Likes

0 likes

Total Posts

3 posts

Correct Reply

0 solutions
Top badges earned
Validate 1
View profile

Avatar
Validate 1
Level 1
jessica_mays
Level 1

Likes

0 likes

Total Posts

3 posts

Correct Reply

0 solutions
Top badges earned
Validate 1
View profile
jessica_mays
Level 1

08-04-2016

We are in the process of cleaning up our Adobe Analytic users to remove individuals who are either no longer with the company or need access to Adobe Analytics. Some of these individuals have developed their own metrics,dashboards, and/or segments that have been shared with others. 

The plan is to move the metrics,dashboards,and/or segments to another user when they get deleted. However, before we start this we do have a couple questions:

  1. Does moving the metrics,dashboards,and/or segments to a new user profile change how it has been shared with others? i.e. does it go back to a default non-shared state
  2. If it does go to a non-shared state when moved to a new profile, is there a way to prevent this?

We have a lot of clean up to do and a lot of shared assets, so we want to plan this out before jumping in.

Thanks!

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Avatar

Avatar
Validate 10
Level 5
warrensander
Level 5

Likes

56 likes

Total Posts

152 posts

Correct Reply

37 solutions
Top badges earned
Validate 10
Validate 1
Boost 50
Boost 5
Boost 3
View profile

Avatar
Validate 10
Level 5
warrensander
Level 5

Likes

56 likes

Total Posts

152 posts

Correct Reply

37 solutions
Top badges earned
Validate 10
Validate 1
Boost 50
Boost 5
Boost 3
View profile
warrensander
Level 5

18-04-2016

The big issue with 'transferring' dashboards that use segments or bookmarks with segments etc is that the relationship gets broken when the transfers happen. The transferred dashboard/report doesn't get it's association with the transferred segment set so it doesn't know what segment to use. etc.

overall it's not really worth 'transferring' things because you probably spend more time fixing things up than you save by doing a quick transfer.

And the suggestion that you just change the password and email address for an account with someone's name attached to it so someone else can use it can cause all sorts of regulatory issues if you have any sort of a security organization.

What you need to do which is harder to govern but better in the long run is to create several login accounts as 'holders' of the shared resources like segments, dashboards, bookmarks, calculated metrics etc

What a segment is deemed to be 'approved' then you want to log into that shared account and save a copy of the segment there and share it out. Turn off the sharing of the original segment and make sure everyone uses the approved one. The same with calculated metrics etc.

This way you have a repository of the shared elements for your company login and don't need to worry about issues arising when a key employee leaves the company or moves on to another assignment and doesn't need their library of shared components anymore. 

The other issue overall is there is no way to get a report of what segments/calculated metrics are used in what report/dashboard/bookmark etc so you can trace back to make sure everyone uses the correct components for reporting.

Also remember if you delete a user login then whatever ad-hoc projects they have that are not shared are no longer retrievable even if you re-create the account. So make sure you clean up ad-hoc before deleting accounts.

Answers (2)

Answers (2)

Avatar

Avatar
Validate 1
Level 1
jessica_mays
Level 1

Likes

0 likes

Total Posts

3 posts

Correct Reply

0 solutions
Top badges earned
Validate 1
View profile

Avatar
Validate 1
Level 1
jessica_mays
Level 1

Likes

0 likes

Total Posts

3 posts

Correct Reply

0 solutions
Top badges earned
Validate 1
View profile
jessica_mays
Level 1

14-04-2016

Just to clarify, we plan to move the user's dashboards and metrics to another user profile before the user profile is deleted.

Is it still the case that the moved shared metrics and dashboards lose how they were shared on the original user profile? Would Adobe engineering services be able to keep the shared aspects of the metrics, dashboards, etc.?

thanks

Avatar

Avatar
Validate 250
Employee
TanmayMathur
Employee

Likes

245 likes

Total Posts

1,193 posts

Correct Reply

422 solutions
Top badges earned
Validate 250
Validate 100
Validate 25
Validate 50
Validate 10
View profile

Avatar
Validate 250
Employee
TanmayMathur
Employee

Likes

245 likes

Total Posts

1,193 posts

Correct Reply

422 solutions
Top badges earned
Validate 250
Validate 100
Validate 25
Validate 50
Validate 10
View profile
TanmayMathur
Employee

12-04-2016

HI Jessica,

When a user gets deleted, the metrics/dashboards made by them are also no longer available. 

Assuming the number of new users is not very high I would suggest editing the inactive users details and adding the new person's email and password. This would save you from the loss of user created assets.

If the number of users are high, I would recommend you to reach out to your account manager and get it done via Adobe engineering services. 

Let me know if you have additional questions. Thanks!

Tanmay