Your achievements

Level 1

0% to

Level 2

Tip /
Sign in

Sign in to Community

to gain points, level up, and earn exciting badges like the new
BedrockMission!

Learn More

View all

Sign in to view all badges

What happens if 2 event based rules fire at the same time and assign different values to the same eVar?

Avatar

Avatar
Validate 1
Level 1
possible_analyt
Level 1

Like

1 like

Total Posts

7 posts

Correct Reply

0 solutions
Top badges earned
Validate 1
Boost 1
View profile

Avatar
Validate 1
Level 1
possible_analyt
Level 1

Like

1 like

Total Posts

7 posts

Correct Reply

0 solutions
Top badges earned
Validate 1
Boost 1
View profile
possible_analyt
Level 1

26-11-2018

Hey I am doing a tagging audit and found that on the site 2 event based rules fired at the same time when click on a button, and they are assigning 2 different values A and B to the same eVar? What will be the outcome of this eVar report? Are both values A and B captured and reflected in the eVar report? Thanks!

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Avatar

Avatar
Coach
Employee
Gigazelle
Employee

Likes

470 likes

Total Posts

1,947 posts

Correct Reply

739 solutions
Top badges earned
Coach
Contributor 2
Validate 1
Ignite 80
Ignite 70
View profile

Avatar
Coach
Employee
Gigazelle
Employee

Likes

470 likes

Total Posts

1,947 posts

Correct Reply

739 solutions
Top badges earned
Coach
Contributor 2
Validate 1
Ignite 80
Ignite 70
View profile
Gigazelle
Employee

26-11-2018

Correct. Only the most recent value would end up in the image request, meaning the first value never makes it to Adobe data collection servers.

Answers (2)

Answers (2)

Avatar

Avatar
Validate 1
Level 1
possible_analyt
Level 1

Like

1 like

Total Posts

7 posts

Correct Reply

0 solutions
Top badges earned
Validate 1
Boost 1
View profile

Avatar
Validate 1
Level 1
possible_analyt
Level 1

Like

1 like

Total Posts

7 posts

Correct Reply

0 solutions
Top badges earned
Validate 1
Boost 1
View profile
possible_analyt
Level 1

26-11-2018

Thank you for the reply. In such case, value A will be overwritten by value B and won't appear in the report? Is it correct?

Avatar

Avatar
Contributor
Level 3
suneeshkachroo
Level 3

Likes

16 likes

Total Posts

50 posts

Correct Reply

17 solutions
Top badges earned
Contributor
Shape 1
Give Back 5
Give Back 3
Give Back
View profile

Avatar
Contributor
Level 3
suneeshkachroo
Level 3

Likes

16 likes

Total Posts

50 posts

Correct Reply

17 solutions
Top badges earned
Contributor
Shape 1
Give Back 5
Give Back 3
Give Back
View profile
suneeshkachroo
Level 3

26-11-2018

the rules will fire one after another however and the evar will get first assigned A followed by B and be will persist.

In such cases, the data sequence of the rule plays a key role.